Exercise and Working while Pregnant: Contractions, Health Concerns, and Safety Precautions

21 Jun

Being a first-time expectant mom, I still find it hard to adjust to my new life at times. I still go about my usual tasks in running my business, doing delivery rounds, getting supplies, etc. My doctor said I have a very healthy pregnancy so, being the overly hyperactive person that I am, I felt like I was Supermom and can do everything even while pregnant.

I’ve been reading a lot about exercising during pregnancy and the huge benefits of walking. I wanted to have a very healthy pregnancy so I thought walking was the best exercise for me and baby. Plus, my job requires me to move and walk around a lot.

Tuesday was a very busy day for baby and I. I had to pick up supplies, meet up with clients, check out rental spaces, and meet a friend for dinner. I was in a rush to get everything done before 8pm so I can squeeze in another client meeting before the day ends. I didn’t realize how quick I was walking that I was putting too much stress on my body and started having cramps. It felt as if I had a really bad case of menstrual cramps. I didn’t think it was something to be concerned about and shrugged it off.

I addressed the issue with my doctor during my Pre-Natal check up yesterday. She said what I felt were contractions or signs of pre-mature labor. Had my uterine contractions continued, there’d be a huge chance I’d get into pre-mature labor and lose my baby. I didn’t think it was a matter of concern until my doctor told me about how serious it was. I felt real concerned and guilty at how close I’ve put baby and I’s health and safety at risk, without realizing it. She advised me to not work myself too hard and stop walking and moving about so much, as baby is only 20 1/2 weeks. At this stage in pregnancy, walking is not as advisable nor beneficial as in the latter stages. At 37 weeks, I can walk and move around as much as I please. I can still work, but must take things slowly and have plenty of rest.

Remember, not all forms of exercises are for pregnant women. Some may even cause more risks than benefits. It is very important that you always consult with your doctor before engaging in any form of exercise or strenuous activity. You and your baby’s health and safety is what matters most. If you feel any unusual sensations during pregnancy, especially headaches and contractions,  call your doctor immediately.

Leave a Reply

